Three columns of different heights representing GPU rental platforms

GPUFlow vs Vast.ai vs RunPod vs SaladCloud: Which One Fits Your Job

A side-by-side comparison of four GPU rental platforms in 2026: what you actually get, how billing works, extra charges, payment methods, RTX 4090 and 3090 prices, and which jobs each one suits.

“Rent a GPU” means different things on different platforms. On some you get a full container you log into. On others you get an endpoint that runs your container for you. On GPUFlow you get an API key for an AI model. The right choice depends less on price and more on what you’re trying to do.

We compared four platforms that rent consumer GPUs like the RTX 3090 and 4090. Everything here was checked in September 2026 on each platform’s own docs and pricing pages; sources are at the end.

What you actually get

GPUFlowVast.aiRunPodSaladCloud
What you rentAn API key for AI models on one GPUA container on a host’s machineA pod (container), or serverless workersContainer groups on home PCs
How you use itOpenAI-compatible API: /v1/models, /v1/chat/completionsSSH, JupyterSSH, JupyterLab, VS Code, web proxyYour container’s API; SSH into running instances
Run your own codeNoYesYesYes
Setup before first useNonePick an image, download your modelPick a template, download your modelBuild and deploy a container
Where the GPUs areProviders’ own computersIndividuals up to data centersSecure Cloud (data centers) and Community CloudConsumer PCs (“Chefs”)

Money

GPUFlowVast.aiRunPodSaladCloud
BillingPer second, 1-minute minimumPer second, no minimumPer secondPer second
Storage chargesNoneSet by host, also while stopped$0.10/GB/month; $0.20 for a stopped pod’s volumeNot stated (the GPU price includes vCPU and RAM)
Data transferNoneSet by host, every byteFreeNot stated
To get started$10 top-up minimum, no fee$5 minimum depositAt least 1 hour of credit; $100 for prepaid cardsTop-ups from $5
PaymentCard (Stripe)Card, BitPay, Crypto.comCard, crypto, invoicing over $5,000Card, crypto on Solana
Credit expiryNever; unused rental time is refunded——12 months after purchase

A dash means we didn’t find a rule in that platform’s docs.

Prices for common cards, September 2026

Per GPU per hour, on demand:

GPUVast.aiRunPod Community / SecureSaladCloud
RTX 3090from about $0.11 – $0.12$0.22 / $0.50$0.17
RTX 4090from about $0.37$0.34 (out of stock) / $0.74$0.33
RTX 5090about $0.43$0.69 (out of stock) / $0.99$0.50

Vast.ai and SaladCloud prices are from getdeploying.com, because Vast’s own price table didn’t load when we checked. SaladCloud also sells lower-priority capacity for less, which can be interrupted. RunPod raised its Secure Cloud prices on September 20, 2026; Community Cloud prices didn’t change.

On GPUFlow each provider sets their own price. The typical range across rental sites is $0.11 – $0.31 for an RTX 3090 and $0.30 – $0.46 for an RTX 4090, and the GPUFlow listing form shows providers where their price sits in that range.

Remember that these aren’t the same product. A $0.30 container that takes 20 minutes to set up and a $0.35 API key that works immediately cost different amounts for a one-hour job. The real cost of renting a GPU goes through the extras.

Which one fits your job

Training or fine-tuning a model

Vast.ai or RunPod. You need the whole environment: your code, your data, your libraries. Vast.ai is usually cheaper; RunPod has more ready-made templates and a data-center tier. Our Stable Diffusion LoRA training walkthrough prices a typical run on both. GPUFlow can’t do this: it doesn’t give you a machine.

Running your own container at scale

SaladCloud or RunPod serverless. Both run your container across many GPUs and handle scaling. Salad runs on consumer PCs, so instances can be interrupted and local storage doesn’t persist; design your job for that. RunPod serverless bills start time and an idle timeout on top of processing time.

Calling an open model from an app, a script or a chat tool

GPUFlow, if a provider runs the model you want. You get an OpenAI-compatible key, so the OpenAI libraries, LangChain, Open WebUI and most chat apps work by changing the base URL. There’s no server to maintain, and you pay by the second for the hours you book. If you end early, the rest goes back to your credits. How to use the key in your tools.

What GPUFlow doesn’t do: embeddings, image generation, the Responses API, or running your own code. And the model runs on the provider’s own computer, so your prompts pass through it. Don’t send anything you wouldn’t share with a stranger.

Trying a model before you buy a GPU

Any of them. On GPUFlow it takes a few minutes and no setup. On Vast.ai or RunPod you can also test your own inference server settings. Either way, an hour costs less than a coffee.

None of these, maybe. If a hosted API offers the model you want, per-token pricing can be far cheaper than renting a GPU. We did the math in hourly GPU or per-token API.

If you have a GPU to rent out

GPUFlowVast.aiSalad
Operating system64-bit Linux with systemdUbuntuWindows 10/11
What renters can reachYour AI models through GPUFlow’s relay. No shell, no open portsA container on your machineSalad’s workloads
Your share88%Vast says listed prices are typically about 25% above what hosts earnNot published
PayoutsBank through Stripe, $25 minimum, $2.50 per cash-outWise, PayPal or Stripe, $20 minimumPayPal, gift cards and more

The full math per card is in what your gaming GPU can earn.

Summary

  • Need a machine? Vast.ai for price, RunPod for convenience and a data-center option.
  • Need a scalable container service? SaladCloud or RunPod serverless.
  • Need an AI model behind an OpenAI-style API, with nothing to set up? GPUFlow.
  • Need the cheapest tokens from a popular model? Check hosted per-token APIs first.

Sources

All checked in September 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the main difference between GPUFlow, Vast.ai and RunPod?

Vast.ai and RunPod rent you a container or machine with SSH, Jupyter or similar access, so you can run any software. GPUFlow rents you an OpenAI-compatible API key for AI models already running on someone's GPU. You can't run your own code on it, but there's nothing to set up.

Which is cheapest for an RTX 4090?

In September 2026 we saw RTX 4090s from about $0.37 per hour on Vast.ai (getdeploying.com), $0.34 on RunPod Community Cloud (out of stock at the time) and $0.74 on RunPod Secure Cloud, and $0.33 on SaladCloud. On GPUFlow, providers set their own prices; the typical range across rental sites is $0.30 to $0.46.

Can I train or fine-tune a model on GPUFlow?

No. GPUFlow gives you chat access to models through an API. For training or fine-tuning you need a platform that gives you the machine, such as Vast.ai, RunPod or TensorDock.

Which platforms accept crypto?

Vast.ai accepts crypto through BitPay and Crypto.com, RunPod accepts crypto (with KYC before the first crypto payment), and SaladCloud accepts USDC, USDT and RENDER on Solana. GPUFlow accepts cards through Stripe.